Emergency Medical Services

The Iredell County Board of Commissioners authorized the development of a county-based EMS agency in 1975. The agency opened and began to serve the county's citizens in August of that same year.

The service now operates at the EMT-Paramedic level of care (the highest level offered in the State of North Carolina).

Coverage Area
Iredell County EMS (ICEMS) is the primary EMS provider for the 598-square-mile county. The county contains 5 incorporated municipalities also served by ICEMS:
  • Statesville
  • Mooresville
  • Troutman
  • Harmony
  • Love Valley
Iredell County is divided by 2 major interstates. Interstate 77 divides the county vertically and it is transected horizontally by Interstate 40.
Iredell County EMS Logo
The agency is comprised of full-time and part-time paid professionals at the EMT, Intermediate, and Paramedic levels. At least 1 Paramedic is on every response vehicle. Around the clock and year round, these dedicated professionals serve a county population that now exceeds 160,000.